Inside I (2019)

Inside I is a single movement duet for soprano and double bass. In a highly fragmentary style, the work depicts the inner life of a woman struggling with sadness, anxiety and loneliness. Despite her persistent gloomy thoughts, she realizes she must accept her aloneness as an inescapable facet of her life. All text fragments are derived from the diaries of the American painter and sculptor Eva Hesse (1936-1970).

List of works



    double bass


    ca. 11’

Text fragments

    Eva Hesse

Score sample