Schritt für Schritt (2017)

Schritt für Schritt is a portrait of the German early expressionist painter Paula Modersohn-Becker (1876-1907) scored for soprano solo. The work deals with the commitment to art and the artist’s search for an individual style. This quest involves moments of doubt, longing, impatience, joy and loneliness. All text fragments are taken from Modersohn-Becker’s diaries and letters from 1900 to 1907. Schritt für Schritt was written for Irene Kurka.

List of works


    soprano solo

    ca. 10’

Text fragments

    Paula Modersohn-Becker

Score sample